2020 Sportsmanship Scholarship Finalists Announced

May 26, 2020

COVID-19 has severely interrupted life as we know it. Fortunately, sportsmanship moves forward through some amazing young people. 

Out of 42 submissions from high schools in the St. Louis area, the St. Louis Sports Commission is proud to announce the 23 finalists for the 2020 Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship. Each of these outstanding young people remains eligible for $30,000 in total scholarship money with a $15,000 top award to be used toward their post-secondary education.

The Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship is named for the late father of Holly Yoakum, a dear friend of the Sports Commission, who was instrumental in the development and growth of the scholarship program. Holly passed away unexpectedly in 2017.

Scholarship awards are presented annually to graduating high school seniors from the St. Louis metro area who embody outstanding sportsmanship. The Sportsmanship Scholarship recognizes individuals who exemplify honesty, integrity, civility, selflessness, kindness, compassion and class in competition.

Winners will be notified no later than June 1, but for now, let’s celebrate these 22 young people, their schools, and their commitment to sportsmanship. Here are the 2020 Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship Finalists:

Dalton Bingman – Priory

Kelsey Carnes – Francis Howell North 

McKenna Carpenter – Parkway Central

Alexis Chapman -Kirkwood

Isaac Conrad – Lutheran High St. Charles

Taylor Etling – Cor Jesu

Anthony Federico – Althoff

Naomi Ferguson – MICDS

Jordyn Grimes – Fort Zumwalt North 

Ana Klenke – Cor Jesu

Margie Lodes – St. Joseph’s Academy

Gwendolyn Mcguire – Fort Zumwalt West

Mark Moore – Hillsboro

McKinlee Morris – Crossroads

Brandon O’Dell – (Northwest Cedar Hill)

Skyla Owens – Metro

Katie Paul – Kirkwood

Tanner Placke – Vianney

Abby Robertson – Fort Zumwalt West

JJ Schwepker – Fort Zumwalt South 

Armon Seraji – Clayton

Hannah Towers – Fort Zumwalt West

Caitlin Welby – St. Dominic 

The Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship is a program of the St. Louis Sports Commission and its affiliated Sports Foundation. Our programs positively impact the lives of young people in the St. Louis area. Your support is needed and appreciated. Please click https://sportsmanship.org/donate/ to donate. Thank you. 

Back to Blog Home

Sign Up for Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.