2019 Sportsmanship Scholarship Finalists Announced

April 23, 2019
2018 Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship recipients

Out of 64 submissions from nearly 40 high schools in the St. Louis area, the St. Louis Sports Commission is proud to announce the 22 finalists for the 2019 Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship. Each of these outstanding young people remains eligible for $20,000 in total scholarship money with a $10,000 top award to be used toward their post-secondary education.

The Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship, is named for the late father of Holly Yoakum, a dear friend of the Sports Commission, who was instrumental in the development and growth of the scholarship program. Holly passed away unexpectedly in 2017.

Scholarship awards are presented annually to graduating high school seniors from the St. Louis metro area who embody outstanding sportsmanship. The sportsmanship scholarship recognizes individuals who exemplify honesty, integrity, civility, selflessness, kindness, compassion and class in competition.

Winners will be notified no later than April 30, but for now, let’s celebrate these 22 young people, their schools, and their commitment to sportsmanship. Here are the 2019 Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship Finalists:

Arielle Adams – Hazelwood Central

Julia Amato – MICDS

Ethan Bazan – Lutheran North

Shannon Bock – Fort Zumwalt West

Demetrios Case – Marquette

Madison Cooley – Fox

Ben Cummings – John Burroughs

Macie Farrier – Fort Zumwalt East

Raiven Hamilton – Ladue

Luke Joggerst – Fox

Liam John – St. Louis University High

Emma LaMartina – Ursuline Academy

Sarah Linn – Parkway South

Shea Luby – Hillsboro

Thomas MacInnes – Lafayette

Molly Nash – Webster Groves

Eryn Phipps – Affton

Brooke Reese – Hazelwood Central

Elizabeth Schilling – Lafayette

Grant Stegman – DeSmet

Jalen White – St. Louis University High

Desmond Woods – McCluer North 

Back to Blog Home

Sign Up for Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.